2017 · Life · Love and Relationship · religion · Trending

Why Did You Stop Praying?

It was a cloudy evening somewhere down the East side. The sun was parting ways for the moon to have its own fair share of performance. The birds gradually flapped their wings in unison while tweeting to the rhythm of the sky. The trees danced like peacocks proud of its existence and value to man.

Nature had its day….

Then,

I prayed for rain. The scenario with the image of the rain pouring while I dance with the trees could not be any perfect. I waited, I prayed, I watched, I got tired, I stopped praying…

Then it rained. It rained so hard that I could only do one thing, sleep to pray no more. I was fulfilled.

That is how many of us are. When in great desire for a miracle, we pray like our lives depend on that miracle. The moment we have it, it is “Bye, God”. It has been a constant behavior of seeking him only in need and forgetting him when in merry.

Why did you stop praying?

I am not different. I am guilty. I often pray about something and the moment it’s here, I unknowingly see myself not praying for it to be sustainable until I look at my book and I am like ” OMG!, the miracle came. How on earth was I blind to it?”

I was blind because I stopped praying. I was too satisfied and comfortable with the whole positive vibes around me.

A famous quote says:

I remember the nights I prayed for things I have. And, I still pray for those things I have and more to come.

This is how we should live our lives. Praying without a season. God has given to us many blessings that we can only obtain through prayer.

But hey,

What is Prayer without Thanksgiving?

Where are our manners?

Phillippians 4:6-7 says:

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Why did we stop praying?

Let’s start that prayer together…

Our Father, who art in Heaven,

Hallowed be thy name, thy Kingdom come.

Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven

Give us this day our daily bread;

And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us;

And lead us not into temptation,

But deliver us from evil,

Amen

Don’t stop the prayer there, continue!

The Lord is with thee.

One thought on “Why Did You Stop Praying?

Leave a Reply

